Seafoam Lavender Lemonade

So, today’s adventure was heading to the Seafoam Lavender Farm(http://lavendercanada.com/)  in Seafoam, Nova Scotia. I saw the signs for this place three weeks ago when I first moved here, and so I’ve wanted to go so badly ever since…and today seemed like the perfect day for a drive! So my partner Nicole and I got in the car and drove the short 28 kilometre drive from my place in Denmark along the coast to Seafoam.

photo credit Seafoam Lavender Farm Ltd.

We arrived around 11am, which seemed like a pretty quiet time to be visiting the farm on a Monday, however, other folks started to roll in pretty soon after us. The farm is a small, family-owned and operated business that grows Czech variety lavender. The son of the couple who owns the business told us that Czech variety of lavender is what seems to grow best in Nova Scotia due to the lack of sunshine, however, they have a small plot that showcases a variety of different types of lavender, so you can see the differences between different varieties.

I bought some of the lavender culinary buds (http://lavendercanada.com/product/lavender-buds-2/) to use for making lavender lemonade (recipe and pictures down below), as well as some natural lavender bug repellant, which I really need living here on the North Shore in the summer time! The service was really great, and all the questions we had about the farm were answered well, so just one more plus about heading to the farm. Unfortunately we had just missed the Lavendar Festival they had this past weekend which sounded really cool(including lavender ice cream! Sorry I missed that…), but there’s always next year…

the culinary lavendar buds (on my gorgeous kitchen island that I love doing prep work on...)

the culinary lavendar buds (on my gorgeous kitchen island that I love doing prep work on…)

Anyway, we came back and I boiled some water (approx. 1L) and poured it over about 1/2 tablespoon of the lavender buds with a tablespoon of sugar and some lemon juice. I then set the tea outside in the sun to brew some more (I brewed mine for about 1 1/2 hours).

you can see some of the lavender buds floating, as well as some that have settled. I just strained these away to have clear tea.

you can see some of the lavender buds floating, as well as some that have settled. I just strained these away to have clear tea.

Because I didn’t have any cheesecloth in my house, I just decided to strain the lavender out of the lemonade so that the lavender taste wouldn’t get too strong (sometimes I find lavender lemonade starts to get a soapy taste to it if you put too much lavender in or leave it to steep too long). I then popped the lemonade in the fridge to cool down, and served it over ice when it was chilled.

the finished product once it was chilled.

the finished product once it was chilled.

Lavender lemonade is a great way to cool down on a hot day–the lavender relaxes your body, and the light pink to magenta colour (depending on how strong you brew your tea) that you get from the lemon dying the lavendar is just gorgeous! So, if you’re in the area sometime, consider dropping by Seafoam Lavender Farm for some of their Culinary Lavender Buds! You can use the buds to flavour oatcakes and shortbread (never done this, but now that I have some buds, I just might!), or you can use them in your own spice mixes or rubs.

Happy eating and happy summer!

This entry was posted in Food Roadtrips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seafoam Lavender Lemonade

  1. Nancy Best says:

    I like the smell of lavender, but not sure I would like it in a tea.

    • It’s actually really good! I find if you brew it too long though, it starts to get a kind of soapy taste to it. But on a hot day, I find chilled lavendar lemonade really refreshing. It’s kind of like a fruitier version of mint tea, almost…

  2. Lorraine Otto says:

    Lavender is used a lot in some French cooking, especially with chicken. I do like lavender lemonade as well.

    • I’ve never actually cooked with lavender before, at least not without the bottled spice mix “Herbs de Provence”. I was just reading this morning on wikipedia (so take it or leave it how accurate this statement is) that lavender was added to the American commercial blends of “Herbs de Provence” that began to be sold in the 70’s, but wasn’t historically part of the blend of savory, fennel, basil, and thyme. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herbes_de_Provence)

      Nevertheless, I’m excited to try cooking with lavender sometime! Do you have a recipe you like to use, Lorraine?

  3. Shea says:

    This sounds like such a fantastic experience, Penny! I am excited to give the lavender lemonade a chance. Lavender has been popping up a bit in my cooking lately as well. A friend was recently gifted some lavender oil, so we are researching ways to use that in cooking and baking. I am a huge fan of lavender-infused honey, which is pretty easy to make, so if you are looking for another option for using some of the buds you found, that might be something to try. I also really enjoy using lavender-scented sugar (stir lavender into white or cane sugar, let sit for a few weeks) in and on sugar cookies or in shortbread. So many options. ^_^

Leave a Reply

