I’m Full of It!

photo credit: Ell4iot Borer

photo credit: Ell4iot Borer

So, this is the first installment of (hopefully!) many more blog posts about all things food (and perhaps just my own culinary food adventures) in and around the Northumberland Shore area of Nova Scotia. I’ve just recently moved from Halifax to Denmark, Nova Scotia to work as a United Church minister in the Tatamagouche area, and I’ve been totally blown away by the amazing availability of local food in this area. And so, after three weeks of living here, I’ve decided to start a food blog to showcase this incredible area, the amazing local producers here, and some of my own adventures in food.

This decision came about largely out of a conversation that my partner Nicole and I have been having over the past few weeks about, now that our Master’s degree is finished and we’re each working at our own jobs–what will we dedicate our lives to? What sort of hopes and dreams and ideas are firing us up?

For me, I’ve started to realize I’m excited about food. I don’t count myself as a hard core “foodie”, but I really love food. I love cooking, I love eating, I love trying new recipes and new foods, and I’m interested in how food is produced. I’m passionate about good, healthy food in my own life, as well as others, and I think this is something that needs to be supported more and more in our culture. Also, I grew up on a farm, and so whenever I see local farmers managing to make a go of it, I’m really friggin proud, and I want to figure out a way to support them.

Also, this realization came out of my supper last night. Because last night, I had locally caught mackerel from the bay just a few minutes drive from my house (I didn’t catch it, but my neighbours did), and vegetable soup that only had two ingredients not from within a 20 minute drive of my house (even the butter we sautéed the veggies and herbs in is local!). This was amazing to me–I haven’t been able to eat like this since I grew up on my parents’ farm! And so it dawned on me that I want to share this amazing wealth of culture with the world. In essence: the Northumberland Shore rocks.

So, the point of this: 1)to promote local food producers, products, and perhaps even restaurants from the Northumberland Shore, particularly around the area of Tatamagouche, 2) to share recipes and ideas about cooking and eating locally, 3)to convince you that you, too, should come and eat in Tatamagouche and area!

I’m hoping to go on (at least) weekly road trips to farms and farmers’ markets to share my food adventures with you folks. So, if you have a suggestion about somewhere I should go, let me know! Also, if you have any suggestions about recipes you think I should try, or events I should go to in the area, drop me a line. This is as much a labour of love for me as it is for all of us. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Full of It!

  1. averylauren says:

    Penny, I’m so excited about your blog. We have so much to talk about! I share your excitement and I can’t wait to get to know the food scene in Nova Scotia. We’re visiting in October now, so we should make a meal together!

    • Avery, that would be awesome to get together to share a meal with you two! The food scenes in Nova Scotia are incredible–the Valley, and the Northumberland shore, in particular! I’m really looking forward to having you in the same province again, I really hope we get to connect next year.

Leave a Reply

