Veggie Tales

Hey Folks,

so a really quick update on local food: today I drove past this tiny, little brown shack on the side of the highway that supposedly sells the best and cheapest vegetables around Tatamagouche. So–here’s some quick directions, and a picture of my shopping.

I got a pound of parsnips, a pound of tomatoes, and a pound of tiny beets for $7! Talk about bountiful! And because I was talkative and it was kind of slow when I stopped in, he gave me a free tomato, just because, which was nice.

On top of this, he had yellow tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, roma tomatoes, green and yellow onions, cucumbers, pumpkin, squash, carrots, cauliflower, green and yellow beans…and an intense amount of jams and jellies and pickles. He was saying “she” (maybe his wife?) makes 2,000 bottles of jams and jellies and pickles a year! After just making a half dozen jars of syrup two weeks ago, I can’t imagine the amount of work that would go into making 2,000 jars of jams, jellies,and pickles! I would much rather buy my preserves from them than do all that work myself (plus her jellies were super clear and pretty, so a sign of a good jelly right there!)

$7 worth of haul from the vegetable shack. I'm a happy camper.

$7 worth of haul from the vegetable shack. I’m a happy camper.

So how do you get to this tiny brown vegetable shack? If you’re driving down the #6 highway from Tatamagouche towards River John, you’re just going to keep driving straight, through the flashing light (if you’re from the area or you cottage here, you’ll know what I mean when I say “the flashing light”–the intersection of Highway 326 and Highway 6) and he’s maybe no more than 900m from the flashing light on the right hand side of the road. You’ll see little signs saying “fresh vegetables ahead” and “carrots” “beans” “beets” on the side of the road, too. He’s only open on weekends, and only until September 29, so fill your boots with cheap, fresh veggies while you still can! I’m planning on making apple and parsnip soup this week, perhaps even with home made toasted croutons…

This entry was posted in Food Roadtrips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veggie Tales

  1. Nicole says:

    I completely approve! Long live the roadside veggie shack. In these years when I’m not gardening or farming, stopping at a shack and leaving my change in the jar or box or yogurt container before walking away with a ridiculous bounty almost feels like harvesting.

Leave a Reply

