The taste of Liberty

A bite of out my Liberty Apple, and a watermelon grown in my neighbour's garden.

A bite of out my Liberty Apple, and a watermelon grown in my neighbour’s garden.

Hey Friends,

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything–I was hoping to do a tour of our mostly local Thanksgiving feast last weekend, but it didn’t happen. Mostly because I swore a lot at the turkey and the turkey roasting pan trying to get it into the oven on time for the rest of the supper! However, there is always next year (and always Christmas!).

So, today I was at the Tatamagouche Farmer’s Market picking up some of my weekly veg, and I remembered I was almost out of apples. So I stopped by the Vista Bella Farms table (who, by the way, has continued to have amazing produce throughout the year) and took in, once again, their absolutely amazing variety of apples. In fact, Sebastian and Brenna farm over 47 types of apples, besides three pear varieties, five plum varieties, and peaches (and that is just the fruit–not forgetting tomatoes). A few weeks back, I had picked up some Snow apples from them which had been great for making apple crisp, and I’ve been taking them in my lunch for the past while as well, but I wanted to try something different.

snow apple from Vista Bella Farms

snow apple from Vista Bella Farms

So, I grabbed a bag of the Liberty variety because I was feeling particularly optimistic (how can freedom not be optimistic?) and headed home.

Liberty Apple from Vista Bella Farms

Liberty Apple from Vista Bella Farms

This apple is amazing. Perfectly crunchy, not too sweet but not too sour, nice red skin colour, and beautiful white colour on the inside. Just the way I like my apples! According to some of the websites I’ve read, the Liberty apple is best for eating (and eating fresh–I’ve read they’re really good for about 2-3 weeks), whereas the Snow variety is good for juicing, eating, or baking, and can be stored for 2-3 months in the right conditions. Right now, I think a lb. of apples cost me $3.50 at the farmer’s market, which was totally worth it.

Growing up in Alberta, I was totally oblivious to the sheer number of apple varities that are grown around the world, not to mention right here in Canada. The fact that Vista Bella Farms grow close to 50 kinds of apples just blows my mind! Out of all the things I love about fall (and there are many!), I’m looking forward to discovering the differences between all these apples that are almost growing right in my back yard.

So, what’s your favourite kind of apple, and why?

This entry was posted in Food Roadtrips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The taste of Liberty

  1. Alex says:

    Northern Spy… because they are so large, and very tart and crisp under the right conditions: the perfect compliment to old cheddar… and what’s not to love about the name? An apple with an air of intrigue.

  2. Shea says:

    I am loving Gala, Pink Lady, and Ambrosia apples lately. I am sadly limited to store apples which aren’t always the most amazing specimens, but I’ve been in luck with my last few bushels. 🙂 I am in awe of your ability to potentially try so many varieties of apples! One of my favourite apple thoughts came about while I was reading Anne of Green Gables for the first time, about the time Gilbert left Anne a “strawberry apple” as an apology for teasing her in school. I asked my Dad over dinner that night if “strawberry apples” were real (I was seven, and I knew I was reading fiction after all) and he said that they probably were. I’ve associated ‘exotic’ apples with the East coast of Canada ever since. If there’s a “strawberry apple” in your nearby orchard and you sample it, please let me know how it is!

    • I have never heard of a strawberry apple! I promise I’ll take a look this Saturday at the Farmer’s Market and see if they have them. I love Pink Lady apples, too, as well as Gala’s. I really don’t think you can go wrong with either of them–although sometimes I find Gala’s not that great for baking (and I am lazy and want to be able to both eat AND bake with my apples. I am slowly learning the art of being apple saavy, though, so maybe I’ll get better at this whole baking vs. eating apple thing…) One of my favourite things to do with apples is cut them up and eat them in a bowl of Sunny Boy cereal with plain yogurt. Oh my heavens, I love that breakfast…

Leave a Reply

